• Notice of Sigma Xi's 2021 Annual Meeting and Assembly of Delegates

    Sigma Xi Constitution Article III. Section 2. D. Notice and Response Requirements (i) Notice of each Annual Meeting or Biennial meeting of the Assembly of Delegates shall be given to each chapter by electronic letter, and also by announcement in the official journal of the Society at least 60 days prior to convening of the Assembly of Delegates.

    Sigma Xi announces that the 2021 Assembly of Delegates and the region and constituency caucuses will be held virtually Thursday, November 4, 2021.

    Sigma Xi Elections

    Sigma Xi Bylaw III, Section 3. Officers of the Society B. Election of Officers (ii) Additional Nominations:

    Additional nominations for President-elect and for Treasurer may be made provided each nominee is supported by at least three chapters and further provided that the chapters have been furnished by the proposers through the Executive Director at least 21 days prior to the convening of the Assembly of Delegates with the name of the nominee and the additional information required in (I (Bylaw III, Section 3. B (i) Nominations by the Committee on Nominations) above.

    Online voting for Society leaders will begin on Monday, November 8, 2021 at 8:00 am following the Annual Business Meeting. The electronic polls will remain open for 14 days. Members must cast their ballot by Sunday, November 21, 2021 at 11:59 pm. Each active full and associate member of Sigma Xi shall have one vote.  Each eligible voter will receive instructions to cast their vote for the open elected positions. Results of the elections will be announced on the Society’s website and in other membership communications immediately following the election.

    Candidates for all offices are listed below and details for each candidate are available on the Sigma Xi website 2021 Elections.

    President-elect will serve from July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023, then as President beginning July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024, and as Immediate Past President from July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2025.

    • Richard Boudreault
    • Marija Strojnik

    Constituency Group Directors
    (term July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025)

    • Comprehensive Colleges and Universities: He Wang, Tieli Wang
    • Area Groups, Industries, State and Federal Laboratories: Mary Bliss

    Constituency Associate Directors
    (term July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025)

    • Research and Doctoral Universities: Allison Augustus-Wallace
    • Baccalaureate Colleges: Joseph Reczek
    • Canadian/International: Amr Heikal, Kelly Monteleone, Sujoy Kumar Saha

    Regional Director
    (term July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025)
    • North Central: Alan Levine, Bradley Jay Swanson
    • Southwest: Laura Montier, Vilupanur Ravi

    Regional Associate Director
    (term July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025)
    • Mid-Atlantic Region: Daniel Druckman, Rene Fuanta, Deborah Good  
    • Northeast Region: Theodora Pinou

    Committee on Nominations
    (the three-year term begins at the conclusion of the voting period)
    • Membership At Large: Robert Hickey, Ngozi Franca Okoye, Mark Seielstad
    • Northwest Region: Surojit Gupta
    • Research and Doctoral Universities: Thomas Rosseel
    • Southeast Region: Todd Adams, Audrey Chang, Xiaoyao Ma

    Sigma Xi Annual Budget

    In accordance with Sigma Xi Bylaws Section 6.  Committees of the Society, item 530:   It [Committee on Finance] shall review and modify the Executive Director's annual budget for the consideration of the Board of Directors, and a copy of the annual budget will be furnished to each chapter at least 60 days prior to the Assembly of Delegates.

    During the May 25, 2021 meeting of the Society’s Board of Director’s, the Committee on Finance recommended that the Board of Directors approve the proposed FY2022 Operating Budget.  A motion was made; the motion was seconded.  The motion carried and the proposed FY2022 Operating Budget was approved.  A copy of the FY2022 Operating Budget can be found in the community library.

    We anticipate an exciting and informative virtual Annual Meeting and Student Research Conference and look forward to seeing you there!

    Warm regards,

    Jamie L. Vernon, Ph.D.

    Executive Director and CEO