Announcements

• President-Elect Nominee Statement   From Kathy Lu, Virginia Tech

Dear all,

I was asked to share this statement to you all by President-elect nominee Kathy Lu. I hope this helps as you decide your vote.

Emma 

Dear Sigma Xi fellow members:

It is my great honor to have this opportunity and share with you my vision and plan for Sigma Xi. I am running for President-Elect because I care deeply about our society. I am eager to contribute my time and knowledge to make Sigma Xi stronger.

I became a Sigma Xi member when I was a graduate student about 24 years ago. Since then, I have worked both in industry and in academy. I have been a professor in Materials at Virginia Tech for 19 years. Currently I am the Director of AI-guided materials thrust in our College of Engineering. Besides being elected as the Fellow of two professional societies, I have also had year-long executive leadership training. This provides me a great combination of scientific knowledge and leadership skills to serve Sigma Xi.

My past involvement and responsibilities in Sigma Xi have also given me the experience and knowledge to address many of the challenges. I served on the Sigma Xi Executive Committee; collectively we made the headquarter relocation site decision. I actively participated in the Society’s activities, such as the Hall of Honor Nobel Laureate Induction Ceremony, and gained an understanding of the opportunities and challenges that our Society faces, such as social media opportunities and active membership drop challenges. In addition, I am the Director of the Research and Doctoral Universities Group and a Member of the Committee on Awards. These experiences prepared me well to serve as Sigma Xi President-Elect.